Commissione Europea 7th Framework Programme Presidenza Del Consiglio Dei Ministri


International Board of Scientific Advisors

Within the framework of the TRIGGER project, an independent body named International Board of Scientific Advisors – IBSA has been appointed with the aim of externally supporting the Steering Committee in the control of the scientific and technical quality of the activities.

The IBSA is composed of 5 members who are scholars and experts coming from within and outside Europe and its main task is to provide external oversight on the scientific quality of the main project’s products, as well as giving not-binding advice.

The IBSA will meet in plenary session at least once a year.

The member of the International Board of Scientific Advisors are:

Lotte Bailyn is Professor of Management and T Wilson (1953) Professor of Management emerita at MIT’s Sloan School of Management. For the period 1997-99 she was Chair of the MIT faculty, and during 1995-97 she was the Matina S. Horner Distinguished Visiting Professor at Radcliffe’s Public Policy Institute. Professor Bailyn has devoted much of her career to the study of the conditions of the workplace, particularly as they affect the careers and lives of technical and managerial professionals and the work they do. Her research deals with the relation of organisational practice to employees’ personal lives, with a particular emphasis on gender equity in business organisations and academia. Among her publications are Breaking the Mold: Women, Men, and Time in the New Corporate World (Free Press, 1993) and its new and fully revised edition Breaking the Mold: Redesigning Work for Productive and Satisfying Lives (Cornell, 2006), and Beyond Work-Family Balance: Advancing Gender Equity and Workplace Performance (Jossey-Bass, 2002), of which she is a co-author.

Maria Joao Marcelo Curto is a Portuguese senior researcher with a Ph.D. in organic chemist from Imperial College, London, where she worked under Sir Derk Barton, Nobel Prize of Chemistry. Returning to Portugal in the early 80´s, she created and was until 2009 the director of the Chemistry Department in LNETI (later INETI), a government laboratory, specializing in support to government and industry in the areas of organic synthesis and natural product chemistry, chemical engineering and organic and inorganic analytical chemistry. As INETI was extinct in 2009, she became chief industrial property officer at the new institute named LNEG, a position she continues to hold. In recent years she has attended various courses on patent law and copyright, is involved in patent litigation and is an arbiter for the World Intellectual Property Organisation. She has over 90 scientific papers, over 300 communications, 18 Portuguese patents and 6 European patents and has written 7 books as well as various book chapters. She is a founding member of AMONET – the Portuguese association of women scientists, and is involved in the study of gender issues in the context of academia and research in general, in close cooperation with other associates from humanities and sociology, seeking to better understand the position of women in the science world and hoping to contribute to better shape their future.

Stefan Fuchs is a sociologist and is currently head of the Regional Research Network at the Institute for Employment Research (IAB) in Nuremberg, Germany. His own research is on women in science and was supported by the National Science Foundation, the Max Planck Society, the Volkswagen Foundation, the Robert Bosch Foundation, and the European Union. In 2002 he reviewed the situation of women in science in Germany for the Enquiry Commission on Globalization of the German Parliament. Together with researchers from other countries he examined the situation of women in innovation, science, and technology from 2006 to 2008 (WiST, EU contract # 036701). He was also a member of the EU Expert Commission on Women in Science and Technology (WiST 2). Together with Claartje Vinkenburg and Channah Herschberg (VU Amsterdam) and Sara Connolly (UEA Norwich), he is currently working on the careers of ERC grant applicants and grantees (ERC-2012-Support-1; # 317442; ERCAREER).

Alice Hogan is currently an independent consultant advising and evaluating university programmes and policies to advance the participation of women in academic science and engineering. Clients include several Universities. She retired from the National Science Foundation (NSF) in 2007, where she was the founding Programme Director of the National Science Foundation’s ADVANCE program. She worked at the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy and at Motorola on detail from NSF. She was a Fellow at the Women and Public Policy Programme at Harvard University’s Kennedy School of Government, serves on the external advisory board for Brown University’s ADVANCE Program. She was member of the team of the Simmons College of Boston in the PRAGES project and is a member of the Expert Group for the EC FP7 Project INTEGER – Institutional Transformation for Effecting Gender Equality in Research.

Dalia Šatkovskiene is an internationally known specialist in the field of quantum mechanics of molecules. She graduated from Moscow State University (scientific adviser B. Pontecorvo) elementary particle physics department. Since 1973 she is doing her research in Vilnius University. She has more than 130 scientific publications and is an author of 4 textbooks in theoretical physics. Since 2004, she has been an expert evaluator of EC FP6 and FP7 programmes in physics, 2007- worked as an Independent Observer for EC FP6 programme. 2005 she initiated and coordinated the FP6 project “Baltic States Network- Women in Sciences and HT” (BASNET), 2011- national Lithuanian project “Promoting Gender Equality in Science” (LYMOS), was among initiators of COST TA1201programme project GenderSTE. Since 2007 she is a member of European Platform for Women Scientists (EPWS) Administrative Board. She strongly contributed implementation of gender mainstreaming policy in the Baltic States region. Since 2008 she is the president of regional BASNET Forumas-association aiming to monitor implementation of gender mainstreaming policy in the region. Prof. D. Šatkovskienė is an active member of other international networks such as IUPAP women in Physics Network as well as professional ones. She is the 2008 winner of American Physical Society Marshak award and was invited to present the situation of women physicists in the Baltic States on the March meeting of American Physical Society (New Orleans, 2008). Prof. D. Satkovskiene initiated and co-organized international conferences on gender issues (2008, 2010, 2011, and 2012 in Vilnius) and 2012 EPWS lunch event in European Parliament.